Pinterest Challenge: 3 Minute Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

31 Jan

pintlogoTime for another Pinterest Challenge! I feel like I’ve been pinning away lately without testing too many recipes. (Can you identify? I hope so!) This time, I thought I’d finally whip up one of those pinned recipes and let you lovely readers know how it turned out. This post could be subtitled, “Here’s what happens when GKG gets a hankering for something sweet, but has no energy to bake a batch of sweet somethings.”

… so, I turned to The Pin for quick and easy desserts. My first attempt was a Mug Brownie or two, and while some experiments were tasty exercises in How Butter Makes Everything Better, they still left me feeling … meh. Not so terribly satisfied by my findings. Then, I scrolled through my “Nosh” board and found this gem-of-a-recipe: Microwave Oatmeal Cookie. Say whaaaat?!

Image sourced from carrotsandcake.com. Does it look like a cross between British Spotted Dick and a hockey puck to you, too?

Image sourced from carrotsncake.com. Does it look like a cross between British Spotted Dick and a hockey puck to you, too? Because it was wayyy tastier than that.

This quick and easy microwaved dessert would, according to the folks at Carrots n Cake, satisfy my sweet tooth with an unexpectedly healthy, hefty-sized oatmeal treat. What did I have to lose, other than, according to the recipe’s title, 3 minutes of my time? (And, I suppose, 1/4 cup of oatmeal and an egg white. Meh.)

After a quick search through my pantry (ha! Who am I kidding? “Pantry” … Through a teensy cabinet. Sigh.) for the needed ingredients, I came up with my own version:

Ho-ho! Check out this beauty.

Ho-ho! Check out this beauty.

It was — Gasp! — pretty close to the original! In appearance, at least. After letting it cool approximately half of the recipe’s required time (hey man, I was hungry, and that cookie was like 4 inches across), I noshed. Quickly. It was warm, surprisingly fluffy (courtesy of the recipe’s required egg whites), and had a hint of cinnamon and oats that tasted like my favorite oatmeal raisin classics. My final verdict on the recipe?

pinterest_404 out of 5 Pinterest P’s!

Why such a high rating for, well, a one-serving cookie? I was impressed by how quickly and easily the recipe came together. 6 or 7 ingredients that come standard in pretty much anyone’s pantry? (Again, ha! Rephrase: In anyone’s mini-kitchen-cabinets.) A 150 calorie SUPER-sized cookie with extra egg white protein? A slightly strange egg-esque texture that’s weirdly pleasant? Win.

In short, I had a cookie in, like, 3 minutes. The recipe was true to its name and its inspiration. Oatmeal raisin goodness, here I come. Frequently.

If you’d like to whip up your own 3 Minute Oatmeal Raisin Cookie, here’s the recipe. This cookie portion is very easily split into two, making it ideal for sharing. Or, if you’re me, ideal for eating in sections, so you feel less guilty about how much you’ve consumed. 🙂

Heeere, cookie cookie cookie. (Was that weird? Oh well. #letyourfreakflagfly #evenifitmeanstalkingtodessert)

Heeere, cookie cookie cookie. (Was that weird? Oh well. #letyourfreakflagfly #evenifitmeanstalkingtodessert)

You’ll need:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp flour of your choice
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 egg white

Here’s what you do:

  • In a microwave-safe bowl or large coffee mug, stir together first 7 ingredients. To add egg white, crack egg shell in half; then, gently transfer yolk back and forth in between shell halves, allowing the egg white to fall into the mixing bowl. Discard yolk and shell (alternately, save yolk for some cholesterol-happy purpose, like adding richness to your next batch of scrambled eggs). Mix “batter” thoroughly until all ingredients are well-combined; flatten mixture slightly with fork or spoon.
  • Microwave for 45 seconds. If cookie seems uncooked (i.e. egg white is too mushy), cook an additional 15-20 seconds.
  • Enjoy! Tasty with a mug of hot chai tea or a cold glass of milk.

What Pinterest recipes have you folks been trying lately? Or, what are your go-to choices for quick and healthy desserts? Microwave brownies? Sliced apples with cinnamon and honey? Totally unique inventions? Share away!

7 Responses to “Pinterest Challenge: 3 Minute Oatmeal Raisin Cookie”

  1. Santa Lipari Wright January 31, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    Sounds great & easy. Did it really taste good?

    • galleykitchengal February 1, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      It WAS pretty good! A little … spongy? I suppose that’s the egg white factor. But if you’re looking for a little something sweet, it hit the spot. 🙂

  2. Cheryl February 1, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    I’ll have to try it this weekend. It looks perfect to me.

    • galleykitchengal February 1, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

      Great! Let me know how yours turns out. I might experiment with it this weekend … perhaps some dried cranberries? Or, if I’m feeling really decadent, a few chocolate chunks? Hmm …

  3. Marcella Rousseau February 1, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Looks very good! Did you use cassia cinnamon or true Ceylon cinnamon? I’ve written a post about the differences that you might be interested in reading.
    http://marcellarousseau.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/new-food-friday-saigon-cinnamon/

    • galleykitchengal February 1, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      Thanks for the great tips and link! I’ll admit that I don’t know much about cinnamon varieties, but your post (especially that Cinnamon Loaf) is so helpful! Thanks again — I’ll have to hunt for the good stuff whenever I hit up Whole Foods. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      • Marcella Rousseau February 1, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

        I’ll have to look for a Whole Foods near me. I haven’t heard of it. Thanks for the tip!

What do you think?

