Pinterest Challenge: Banana Chips

20 Aug

Alright, my cutie Pinning patooties – it’s time for another Pinterest Challenge! (Thanks again to John & Sherry at Young House Love for inspiring this series of posts – y’all are the best, even if I wish John would write a post about cooking!) After last time’s slightly-dry-but-rather-attractive Cinnamon Braid coffee cake, I thought I’d branch out a bit and try my hand at something I’d never, ever made before. You know, something exotic, like curry. Or Twinkies.

Image sourced from simplymathbakery.com. Yep, people do this. Check out Joy the Baker for an amazing-looking recipe.

And what did I find? Homemade banana chips. Here’s the original pin, posted by a high school friend of mine from an original Nuts.com image.

How good do those look?

I know, I know – “But Galley Kitchen Gal. Why bother spending potential hours of your life concocting something that you can buy in a gas station convenience store for, like, 99 cents? Isn’t there some quote from Thoreau about the value of your time and what you spend it doing? I bet he never tried to dry bananas in his cabin in the woods. Plus, dried mangoes are WAY better.”

Or maybe that’s just my internal monologue. Eh, at least she’s well-read.

Anyhoo; the little buggers just looked so darn tasty, I had to give ‘em a try.

The directions, according to the pin’s description, are pretty simple:

  • Slice a banana.

  • Dip each slice into lemon juice.
  • Spray a cookie sheet, and lay out the banana slices.

  • Bake for 2 hours at 200 degrees; then, flip the slices and bake another 1.5-2 hours.
  • Allow the chips to cool and harden; then, nosh upon their tropical goodness.

Sounds easy enough, right? After following the recipe (almost) to a T, here was my end result:

Here, chippy chippy chippy

My verdict? 2.5 out of 5 Pinterest Ps.

Check out those sick MS Paint skills. Boomskies.

Why? First – and perhaps I simply cut some too-skinny slices – the chips were a little too thin, resulting in them almost over-browning during the second half of the cooking process. Secondly, they still were a bit too chewy, even after cooling completely. It felt a bit like I was chewing some strange banana-flavored caramel, which – while tasty-ish – didn’t seem like the original objective. However, I also overzealously sprayed my cookie sheet with Pam (as my little sister would say, “Um, aggressive…”), so that could just be the cooking spray talking. Er, tasting?

Here, you can see their slightly … space-dried nature.

If I made ‘em again, I’d change the following things:

  1. Cut the slices a bit thicker; maybe ¼ an inch?
  2. VERY lightly spray the pan
  3. Make sure my oven rack is centered; I placed the baking sheet on a lower rack, and that could have influenced how they turned out.

Oh well. Off to keep pinning and patrolling the Interwebs for pretty images with matching recipes. What Pinterest successes (or miserable failures) have you all experienced lately? Any fun new pins to share?

If you’d like to follow my Pinterest food board, “Nosh,” there’s a link on the sidebar that you can click. Check it out!

5 Responses to “Pinterest Challenge: Banana Chips”

  1. Amy August 20, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    I had a similar result with zucchini chips. They were either cut too thick or too thin, and even after all that effort I only got a small bowl’s worth of chips from an entire zucchini. Plus, it took too long. I could have run to the grocery store and back by the time I had cut the zucchini and preheated the oven. Not worth it in my book.

    • galleykitchengal August 20, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

      Agreed in all respects. I actually went on a 9 mile bike ride … during the first half of the banana chips’ baking time. Then they STILL had to bake for another 1-2 hrs, and all I had left was … 19 little banana chips. So, yeah. 🙂 Definitely trying something more … voluminous for my next Pinterest challenge. Have you pinned and tried anything good lately? I tend to stalk your food pins, and they look awesome, as usual. 🙂

      • Amy August 23, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

        I’m currently trying to clear out my “food” bookmarks folder and turning them into Pins. That way I can see what I’ve saved and have it in some type of order. I’ll let you know if I pin and make anything!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pinterest Challenge: Crispiest Sweet Potato Fries … Ever? « galley kitchen gal - September 7, 2012

    […] previous Pinterest Challenges, check out these banana chips or this cinnamon coffee cake. Stay tuned for more, and check out my Pinterest food board, Nosh, for […]

  2. Pinterest Challenge: Gluten-Free Cauliflower Pizza Crust « galley kitchen gal - October 27, 2012

    […] on with recipes this year in the spirit of their challenges (such as this one, this one, and this one), I can now officially submit mine to the Petersik’s blog paradise. Hurrah! For the official […]

What do you think?

